Nana Ayim Poakwah
Executive Director

Nana Ayim Poakwah is the Executive Director of Hunger Alliance of Ghana. He has over 20 years experience in both the public sector and private sector and has been involved in farmers’ empowerment programmes for many years.

Nana Ayim served as the Executive Director of Hunger Alliance of Ghana since 2009 having become a founding member it in 2004. Prior to his current position as the Executive Director of the Alliance, Nana served as a member of the Presidential Task Force that established the Ghana School Feeding Programme during the presidency of His Excellency John Agyekum Kufour in 2005 which today provides one hot nutritious locally prepared on-site lunch to one and half million school pupils a day in all districts of Ghana. He became the first head of operations of the Ghana School Feeding Programme in 2005 and coordinated the operations of the programme throughout Ghana.

From 2001 to 2004, Nana served as the National Assistant Research Officer of the African Peer Review Commission in Ghana which reviewed the progress of Ghana for two years and implemented Ghana’s Programme of Action as part of the NEPAD Democracy and Good Governance support to African countries. The Peer Review initiative enabled Nana Ayim and his team to review Ghana’s progress in four key areas including democracy and good governance, socio-economic development, corporate governance and economic governance.

Nana served and supported the work of a few Presidential Committees from 2002 to 2005 and this include the Committee that was set up to establish the National Youth Employment Programme in 2005 and the committee that was set up to establish the National Health Insurance Scheme in 2003.

Currently, Nana also coordinates the West Africa Alliance against Hunger and Malnutrition which is made up of the fifteen (15) National Alliances against Hunger in West Africa. He is  also the Coordinator of the Ghana Coalition of Civil Society Organizations for Scaling up Nutrition, a coalition of one hundred and forty organizations including faith-based, NGOs, farmer-based, gender-based and community-based organizations operating in all sixteen (16) regions of Ghana.. Nana Ayim has attended a number of conferences in Ghana and abroad and has shared some useful papersand presentation on food security and nutrition

Dr. Frank Mcavor
Board Chairman

Dr. Frank Mcavor is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Hunger Alliance of Ghana. Dr. Frank Mcavor is also the Coordinator of Ghana Agriculture Initiative Network (GAIN). GAIN is a collection of agriculture specialists and professionals including scientists that provide agriculture research to support farmers. He has over 35 years of experience in development policy, planning and implementation. Dr. Mcavor is also a monitoring and evaluation specialist. Dr. Mcavor has worked with organizations in Ghana and abroad including UNDP, Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning, Divestiture Implementation Committee among others. He is also a member of Hunger Alliance technical team

Mrs. Wilhelmina Okwabi
Board Member
Mrs. Wilhelmina Okwabi is a retired Public Servant. She worked with Ghana Health Service as a Nutritionist and became the Head of the Nutrition Department of Ministry of Health before retirement. She has over 35 years experience in public health and Nutrition. Mrs. Okwabi is also the Chair of the Advocacy Committee of Hunger Alliance of Ghana.
Mr. Frank Darkwah
Board Member
Frank Darkwah is a member of Hunger Alliance of Ghana Board representing farmers groups and the private sector. He is the Managing Director of Obibini Darkwa Company Limited. He has more than 30 years experience in the private sector and agro industry
Dr. Edith Tetteh
Board Member

Dr. Edith Tetteh is a Public Health Specialist with Masters degree in public health from University of California and a PhD from University of Chicago.

She worked in Academia. She was a faculty member of University of Ghana. She has worked in many sectors relevant to nutrition.

A mother of three daughters and grandmother of four, Dr. Edith Tetteh also served as Vice Chairperson of the National Development Planning Commission and was appointed the National SUN Focal Person in 2013.

Mr. Samuel Abbey Mensah
Board Member
Mr. Samuel Abbey Mensah represents faith-based organisations on the board. He is the Executive Secretary of Amen Amen Institute, afaith -based organization in Ghana with interest in food security and nutrition. Mr Mensah worked for Ghana Broadcasting Corporation for 40 years. He is an accomplished retired broadcaster.
Ms. Audrey Baffour
Board Member
Ms. Audrey Baffour is board member of Hunger Alliance of Ghana and the Executive Director of Wellbeing Foundation. Her organization promotes gender equity, social development and community education. She is also a member of the Executive Council of Ghana Coalition of Civil Society Organizations for Scaling Up Nutrition.
Dr. Noah Owusu Takyi
Board Member

A member of Hunger Alliance of Ghana Board, Dr. Takyi  is also the Founder and Chair of Professional Farmers College (PROFACO) and Kumasi Institute of Tropical Agriculture (KITA) now a University college of agriculture. Dr. Takyi has offered training to farmers including farmer organizations for more than 20 years. He is an accomplished academia.